Skip to content

A horrific new trend? – Gucci Guilty

August 22, 2010

Okay so I’m not quite sure what has brought it on and why on earth it’s happening… But I’m really not liking the cringe commercials for perfumes that are arising at the moment. I thought I’d seen it all with Ryan Reynolds for Hugo Boss, where he slyly pouts at the camera, unhooks a woman’s neglige and presumption is left to the audience that he progresses to have an x rated evening.

But I’ve obviously been proven wrong with the latest in Gucci, in this trailer we meet Frank Miller’s Gucci Guilty, I’m under the assumption that it’s supposed to be a mockery of an old style film, but somehow doesn’t work? Even with Evan Rachel Wood and Chris Evans having some passionate affairs to the soundtrack of Friendly Fires which are swiftly interrupted by Wood’s car oozing wheels of fire, in true Wacky Races fashion. It ends with a dramatic subtitle announcing the exclusive launch of the music video in September at the MTV Music Video Awards, but with the low expectation that sneak shot provided (I actually thought it was a spoof at first) I somehow can wait until then.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 10:23 pm

    I don’t think I like it either, I actually watched the gucci guilty video before your post and I didn’t know what they were advertising until I read your post. But that could also be because I don’t have speakers right now. The gucci one seems over the top for perfume.

  2. August 31, 2010 7:58 am

    This a fabulous post and may be one that needs to be followed up to see what happens

    A chum emailed this link the other day and I will be eagerly anticipating your next write. Proceed on the super work.

  3. September 1, 2010 1:31 pm

    Observed your website via google the other day and absolutely liked it so much. Carry on the truly great work.

Leave a Reply

